We have updated our Privacy Policy Please take a moment to review it. By continuing to use this site, you agree to the terms of our updated Privacy Policy.

We Should Hang Out Sometime

Embarrassingly, a true story

Josh Sundquist had only ever had one girlfriend.
For 23 hours.
In eighth grade.

 

Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong?

 

We Should Hang Out Sometime is the the result of Josh’s semi-scientific, wholly hilarious investigation. From a disastrous putt-putt date involving a backwards prosthetic foot to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing) to a misguided “grand gesture” at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love-or at least a girlfriend-in all the wrong places. We Should Hang Out Sometime is for every person who has ever wondered, “is there something wrong with me?” (the answer, by the way, is “no”).

 

By revisiting middle school, high school, and college experiences, inspirational speaker Josh Sundquist shares what it was like to grow up as “the guy with one leg.” Interspersed with the author’s black-and-white line art, this real life story will appeal to fans of The Fault In Our Stars and Ned Vizzini’s Teen Angst.

Audiobook Download / ISBN-13: 9781478955917

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Praise

Praise for We Should Hang Out Sometime:

"Sundquist is a storyteller-flawed, wry, laid-back and sympathetic. Anyone who's felt awkward will alternately (or simultaneously) wince and burst out laughing at his earnest misadventures with stalkers, "Close Fast Dancing" and flow charts... but above all, they'll be rooting for Sundquist to hang out with a girl. Funny, sympathetic and poignant, Sundquist's memoir has a high probability of success."—Kirkus Reviews

"[A] laugh-out-loud memoir...This is a unique, earnest, and funny coming-of-age story about Sundquist's experiences as a cancer survivor, amputee, Paralympic ski racer, and motivational speaker. Readers will appreciate the humorous and often embarrassingly accurate tales depicted in the pages of this book."—SLJ

"An autobiographical account that's equal parts hilarious and cringe-inducing...While his recent interviews and meetings with the girls from his past are often just as uncomfortable as their dates were, they also lead to answers as genuine as his narrative."—Publishers Weekly

"Often hilarious, occasionally awkward, and always hopeful, Josh's quest for love will have readers rooting for him all the way."—Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and The Geography of You and Me

"Josh Sundquist has written a sharp, funny memoir without an ounce of self-pity about how the fear of rejection can be far more crippling than any disease. A hilarious, heartfelt reminder that finding the courage to accept love is an inside job."—Aaron Hartzler, author of Rapture Practice

Read More Read Less

About the Author

NOVL - Headshot photo of Josh Sundquist