9 Lineages of Royalty, Definitively Ranked

Who gave me the authority to definitively rank YA royal houses? Good question. No one. I have no authority. But when has that ever stopped me? So here I am, sending my opinions on YA royal houses into the ether, simply because I can.

Read More
12 Cliffhangers, Ranked from a Little Frustrating to Me Ripping My Hair Out

SPOILER ALERT: okay, so I’m going to try to be as non-spoilery as I can be, but even just telling you the end of the book is cliffhanger might justify as a spoiler in and of itself. So read with caution!

Read More
Cover Reveal: More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed Masood

It’s the last cover reveal for the Spring and Summer 2020 season, and we have just the perfect book to close it out! More Than Just a Pretty Face by Syed M. Masood is perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han—it’s a sweetly funny YA rom-com debut about arranged marriage, falling in love, familial expectations, and being a Renaissance Man.

Read More
Cover Reveal: I Know What You Did Last Summer + Killing Mr. Griffin by Lois Duncan

If you saw the NOVL livetweet of I Know What You Did Last Summer, you’ll know we had a great time traveling back to the 90’s to experience those very on-trend floral camisoles and some slasher shenanigans. BUT—firstly, did you know the movie is (loosely) based upon a book, and secondly, DID YOU KNOW IT’S GETTING A REPACKAGE?!?

Read More
Shaking Up Tradition! with Nandini Bajpai

I grew up in New Delhi in a large family with three sisters and lots of cousins. I also went to a women’s college, which was kind of like an Indian Wellesley or Barnard. Many of the girls I grew up with had arranged marriages and they were not the stereotypical negative experiences you might expect. I hope that A Match Made in Mehendi expands the way people think outside their own lived experience and makes them more open and accepting of love in all its forms.

Read More